top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVUBC

UTSNZ Basketball Champs & what they have done for me

Updated: Feb 27, 2020

The University Tertiary Sport New Zealand (UTSNZ) hold a 3x3 championship and a 5x5 championship for each of the universities in New Zealand each year. I have been fortunate enough to attend these since I started studying in 2017. These championships have given me the opportunity to strive for goals that aren’t based on my studies. Not to mention giving me something to train towards. It is also how I have met my best friends.


The 3x3 championships happens in April, this gives the university very little time to prepare but it is so worth it. Previously the winner of the championship gets to represent New Zealand in China playing against universities from all over the world! This year the top three teams travel to Fiji for a tournament and the winner of that tournament will be the New Zealand representative to compete in China. Not only is this an amazing opportunity but I have found that it is a great way to meet people that aren’t in my classes but have similar interests to me at the start of the year. In 2019 UTSNZ announced that they would be having a three-point shooting competition and that each university had to nominate one player to compete. I was lucky enough to have been chosen, it was so daunting having to shoot in front of everyone but I managed to take the win! This has been my proudest basketball moment to date and something that I am always going to be able to look back on.


The 5x5 championships is held in September. Victoria University of Wellington tends to have their premier team that will compete at the championships named by the end of the first trimester. This has given me sufficient time to bond and create memories on and off the court with my new team mates while preparing for the championships. These championships bring the best basketball players from each university together. It has given me the opportunity to reconnect with those that I grew up playing with and against in representative teams. It has allowed me to play against old friends and old enemies on the court. Most of all the championships has given me an exhilarating break from study by allowing me to play the game that I love.


However, one thing that I have had to remember countless times is that when I am at these championships, I still have assignments that are due and readings that need to be done. Having the competitive basketball games during the day and studying when I can, while also bonding with my team always leaves me coming away from each championship feeling both mentally and physically drained. But for me that is one of the most rewarding feelings in the world, to know that I have worked so hard on and off the court for my university alongside my teammates and my friends is so empowering.


Sarah Talbot

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page